Board of Directors

An elected, five-member board of directors governs the Russian River County Water District, with the offices of president and vice-president rotating regularly every two years. The board’s current members include:

Kimberly Burr, Esq., President

Current Term Ending: 2023
Kimberly has lived in Forestville since 1991 and served briefly on the Hollydale Mutual Water Company Board before it was annexed to the RRCWD. Kimberly has a strong interest in water quality, reliability, responsible use of limited fresh water resources, as well as management of public funds in the service of those ends.

The board has appointed Kimberly as President for several years running. Russian River County Water District has grown both and size and complexity over the last decade. Kimberly, as an attorney, has a special talent for running the board meetings in an efficient and effective way.

Richard McGowan, Vice President

Richard McGowan

Current Term Ending: 2025
A refugee from Los Angeles and Forestville resident since 1972, Rich McGowan joined the board in 1987.

Following a 25-year career as both a general and plumbing contractor, he is now an independent consultant and site inspector for major school construction projects.

Rich works to protect the health of the Russian River through Trout Unlimited and, no surprise, loves to camp, fish and garden.

Alan Horobin

Current Term Ending: 2023
Alan has worked as a general contractor in this area for the last 20 years. He lives in a neighborhood of 30 households that was served by their own community well and water system.

Alan served as a director on his community water system board for about 10 years up until it dissolved when it annexed to Russian River County Water District. He looks forward to serving the larger community providing potable water as well as upgrading the system, as necessary, for fire protection.

Decker Smith

Current Term Ending: 2023
Decker, while the most recent  member of the board, is a long time resident of Sonoma County and has made Forestville his home for more than forty years. 

As a retired Registered Nurse who worked for the county-owned Community Hospital in its Emergency Department and after it’s sale to Sutter, for the Public Health Department, he began his search for local organizations he might best be fitted to devote his time to. 

Among other volunteer duties he assumed he became most active with the Laguna de Santa Rosa Foundation as both a guide and docent, this for the last eleven years. Decker’s interest in maintaining the integrity of the vital wetlands upon which we all depend and his eagerness to more fully engage with our community, prompted his seeking a position on the board.

He welcomes the opportunity to serve. 

Note: The board newly appointed Decker Smith to the board because it needed a permanent 5th board member. The seat became empty in early 2023 due to the death of long-time board member Ed Monroe. Sarah Yardley stepped in to be an interim director until we could find a new permanent one. At the June 27, 2023 meeting, the board welcomed Mr. Smith to the board. We are grateful to both Mr. Smith for coming forward and Ms. Yardley for helping the district be able to operate with 5 board members for several months prior to this appointment.

Janet Zagoria

Current Term Ending: 2025
At the urging of a neighbor, Janet Zagoria spearheaded the formation of the water district shortly after she moved to her current home in 1980 and was first elected to the original board in 1983.

Since 1999, she has had a Web design and development company. Her clients are small businesses and non-profits. She also does pro bono web design work for several community organizations.

Janet has been active in community politics and issues since first coming to Sonoma County. She has lived in Forestville since 1977.